Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Marinated grilled chicken, seasoned potatoes and steamed broccoli.

First take your chicken breasts, rinse them and toss them in the marinade. I put mine in a zippered bag with Newman’s Italian salad dressing. I press all the air out of the bag and let them sit in the fridge for, well however much time you have. Sometimes I get them ready the night before other times maybe an hour or so before I put them on the grill.

Next I get the potatoes ready. I used red potatoes this time but often use russets, it just depends on what I have on hand. I wash and cut the potatoes into bite sized pieces. Drizzle on olive oil and whatever spices or herbs I feel like having. This particular night, I used season salt and some chopped yellow onion along with black pepper. I like to wrap up the potatoes in Reynold’s non-sick foil.

I make this groovy little pouch by putting the potatoes on one pice of foil then putting another piece of foil on top and folding all the edges over several times. The pouch stays together very well, well enough to flip over on the grill halfway through cooking, so both sides of the potatoes brown. The foil pouch cooking works great when you are cooking over a campfire too.

Then it is time to get the broccoli ready for steaming. I do this while the grill is heating up. I just wash and cut the broccoli into bite sized pieces and put them in a pan with a steamer tray at the bottom. The broccoli hangs out until it is time to start steaming.

Once the grill is heated up it is time to put the potatoes on… you can see them on the left side of the grill. I usually cook them about 10 to 15 minutes before I put on the chicken, at that time I turn over my potato pouch and put the chicken on the grill. I usually cook breast this size for about 7 to 10 minutes per side. I would image timing all depends on the heat of your grill. My grill usually ends up at about 400 degrees after heating it up. I grill both the chicken and potatoes with the top down keeping the heat in and the burners at a medium to medium low heat. The grill still shows a temp of 350 to 400 degrees fahrenheit.

Once the chicken has cooked on one side, it is time to get the broccoli going. Turn on the stove and cover the pan with a tight fitting lid. Make sure you have an inch or so of water under the steamer. I steam my broccoli for about 5 to 8 minutes. By this time the chicken and potatoes are done and it is time to eat.

Notice how the potatoes got slightly browned and crunchy, not all the potatoes brown, just the ones that are sitting against the non-stick foil. If you use regular foil sometimes your yummy brown crunchy potatoes stick to the foil and you lose the crunchy browness to the foil.

Time to eat…. YUM!

