Tags

, , , , , ,

So I made cheesecake for my husband’s birthday. Most years I make regular full cheese cheesecake but this year I decided to try replacing half the cheese with plain Greek yogurt.

I figured out my regular full cheese cheesecake would end up being around 6011 calories per cake.
We get 14 servings from the cake so that ends up being 429 calories per serving, with no topping.
By my calculations I found replacing half the cream cheese with no fat greek yogurt reduces the calories by 95 per serving.

Here is my new recipe

My Yogart Cheese Cake

Crust
2 cups finely crushed gram crackers 780 calories
8 Tablespoons melted butter 860 calories (I think you could use less butter)

Filling
16 oz of softened cream cheese (2 packs) 1600 calories
16 oz plain no fat greek yogurt 260 calories
1 cup sugar 730 calories
4 large eggs 429 calories
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla 12 calories
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)

Total calories per cake 4,671 calories
Divided by 14 servings is 334 calories per serving

Crush gram crackers. I find putting them in a zippered bag and smashing them with hands first then finishing up with a rolling pin works well.

Combine gram-cracker crumbs with melted butter.

Then press them into bottom of a spring form pan.

In a bowl combine soften cream cheese, yogurt and 1 cup sugar, blend well.

Slowly blend in eggs. Do not over beat. add vanilla and lemon zest. I forgot to add the lemon zest even though I purchased a lemon for the occasion.

Make sure everything is mixed up well.

Spoon mixture on top of gram cracker crust .

Bake in 350 degree oven for 45 to 60 minutes (test with toothpick) when done remove from oven and run a knife around the edge to loosen the cake from pan.

Let cool for an hour or so before removing the ring then cover with plastic wrap and put in fridge for at least 4 hours before serving.

The cake turns out lighter and less dense than my full cheese version.

But with the calorie savings you can feel a little less guilty when you top it with blueberry topping.

I make my own blueberry topping by putting 2 cups frozen blueberries and a half cup sugar on the stove and boiling it until the blueberries become soft.

