Tags

, , , , ,

Well here they are two slabs of ribs that I am going to attempt to cook in my electric roaster. Each slab was a little over three pounds.

The first step is to remove the membrane on the inside of the ribs. This was fairly easy, just grab the end of it and start pulling. You can use a paper towel for a better grip. I found the membrane came off easier when pulling from the small end of the ribs to the large end.

Then sprinkle the ribs with rub, this can be whatever spices you like. Here is the recipe I tried.

If I were to do this again I would use less cayenne pepper and less rub in general. This was more than enough rub for the two slabs of ribs

I wrapped up the spiced ribs in plastic wrap and let them sit in the fridge for about two hours.

Then I unwrapped them, tossed the plastic wrap in the trash and cut them in thirds. I wrapped each section in foil and set them in the roaster on top of a rack, close the lid and keep it closed for the entire time.

The roaster was preheated to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. After 20 minutes I turned the roaster down to 200F for about 3 hours. By then they were starting to smell like ribs so I got worried and turned the roaster down to 150F for the last 2 hours. (I need the ribs to be ready at 5pm and they were cooking a bit too fast)

So here they are all yummy and done and totally falling off the bone, so much so that if you pick them up…. they fall apart. If I were to do this again I would start a little later in the day so they only cook for maybe 4 hours not 5. Oh well live and learn. 🙂

My revised recipe for cooking time of ribs in the electric roaster would be…

15 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit
4 hours at 200 degrees Fahrenheit

We slathered them with BBQ sauce and stuck them under the broiler (or you could put them on a hot grill) just long enough to caramelize the sauce.

I made my own sauce (sorry no photos)
half an onion chopped and sautéed in a little olive oil
1 cup catchup
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/8 cup cider vinegar
simmer on the stove for about 10 or so minutes.
This sauce tasted better when it simmers for a while.

Well there you have it. So far everything I have cooked in my electric roaster gets done so much earlier then I think it will. Though the temps are always lower than I would use in the regular oven, everything cooks so much faster… I wonder why. The good new is, with the roaster nothing ever seems to dry out, just gets over done. 🙂

